Non-dairy and dairy free DO NOT mean no dairy!

Home Forums Staying up on the food industry Non-dairy and dairy free DO NOT mean no dairy!

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    • #4706
      Dr Robyn

      We did a live this morning (10/9/19) talking about how the legal definition of “non-dairy” allows the inclusion of milk proteins and “dairy free”doesn’t have a legal definition at all.

      This is the article we referenced:

      Buyer beware! Always read the ingredients. Look for casein and whey specifically. Sometimes you can also look at the allergens list. However, member Scott Fulton pointed out that inclusion of casein may or may not be noted as milk on the allergen list.

      “Depends if the manufacturer deems it [casein] an ingredient or a processing agent. Casein is a more shelf stable protein, making it qualify for the latter. There is no FDA audit process – presumption is producer is abiding by rules and subject to penalty only upon proven non-compliance.”

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.